AARP Age-Friendly Community Survey


From the AARP website at

"The WHO has identified eight areas that influence the quality of life of those in a community, particularly older adults. The eight areas or domains are: Outdoor Spaces and Buildings; Housing; Transportation; Social Participation; Respect and Social Inclusion; Civic Participation and Employment; Communication and Information; and Community and Health Services. AARP Research developed a survey instrument that captures the WHO eight areas of an age-friendly community in order to help communities: (1) establish a baseline with regards to older adults being able to age in place, and (2) conduct a community needs assessment to identify and prioritize areas of focus. The survey findings reflect individual preferences and help policymakers, planners and others better understand the needs of an aging population in order to begin to brainstorm steps and policies that can be taken to improve livability for all."

Resources in this Indicator

Covers Years:

2016 - 2016

Filed in Topics:

Filed in Subtopics: